LumberJocks

PEC 90 Degree 12" Combination Square

  • Advertise with us
Review by PPK posted 08-07-2017 08:36 PM 977 views 0 times favorited 8 comments Add to Favorites Watch
PEC 90 Degree 12" Combination Square No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

This is a review for a combination square that is priced a lot lower than a Starret square, is actually square, and is made in the USA. All good things, right?

-It is square. Really square. All the way along the length of the ruler.
-It slides well. Not AMAZING, but well.
-Fit and finish are pretty decent, but not amazing. There are some sharp corners.
-The graduations are well marked, and very easy to read. (Etched in, I think)
-It came with some anti-corrosion coating on it and had no rust.
-Knurled knob is very easy to grip with two fingers and turn.
-Scratch awl is fine. (although I don’t use it, really)
-I’ve used it for several months, so I think I have a good feel for it and can write a decent review.

I bought it for about $20 on Ebay, not including S&H.

Overall, I’d buy this square again and again, since I have no need for the PERFECT tolerance of a Starret, nor do I have the money to buy one, but I do want a square that is SQUARE and affordable! I also like supporting US companies when possible. This tool fits the bill on all counts.

Disclaimer: I am not a machinist or a tool specialist, nor do It have any way to measure exactly how many thousandths of an inch it is accurate to, but I know that when I cut a line with a marking knife, flip the square and check, it looks perfect!

-- Pete




View PPK's profile

PPK

493 posts in 529 days



8 comments so far

View Ocelot's profile

Ocelot

1806 posts in 2358 days


#1 posted 08-07-2017 10:23 PM

Thanks for the review. I have the PEC 6” double square and like it a lot.

I didn’t know the 12” combo square could be had so cheaply. I usually would buy from Taylor Toolworks on ebay. Is that where you got yours?

View Andre's profile

Andre

1316 posts in 1526 days


#2 posted 08-08-2017 03:16 AM

Might have to take a look, the Empire from H.D. getting a little sloppy.
I do have a Starrett but I only use it for important stuff and to check
other squares! The square I use most of the time is a 2 1/2” Lufkin.

Checked E-Bay ca. $42 + 20 for shipping Canadian $

-- Lifting one end of the plank.

View JohnDi's profile

JohnDi

19 posts in 1154 days


#3 posted 08-08-2017 09:47 AM

Cache out Harry Epstein for PEC blemishes.
They get good reviews and are very reasonably priced.

View PPK's profile

PPK

493 posts in 529 days


#4 posted 08-08-2017 01:18 PM

Looks like the seller is Reddottool. http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-PEC-90-Degree-12-Combination-Square-/222244770698?hash=item33bed2138a:g:rdoAAOSwHoFXqOTa

I also like buying from Taylor Tool Works.

-- Pete

View MrRon's profile

MrRon

4217 posts in 2964 days


#5 posted 08-08-2017 04:41 PM

Thanks for the review. I have a Starrett comb square and use it only for special jobs and for checking other squares. I was able to check a Stanley square against the Starrett and found it to be very much off. I was able to correct this with a little machining, but it is still not perfect. I think I will get a PEC CS for everyday use and send the Stanley to the “framing” toolbox where it belongs.

View jonah's profile

jonah

1043 posts in 3019 days


#6 posted 08-09-2017 12:51 PM

I have one of these squares, and it’s great. Perfectly square, or at least as perfectly square as my eyes can see, and the fit and finish is very good.

I also have two PEC 4” double squares and a try square. All are great.

View dbeck's profile

dbeck

34 posts in 79 days


#7 posted 08-10-2017 10:07 AM

I got a set of these from harry epstein and they are great. Learned of the site from on a forum here and finally have squares and rulers i am happy with.

View Rick M's profile

Rick M

9925 posts in 2100 days


#8 posted 08-12-2017 03:27 AM

$28 for a high quality US made combo square is a good deal, that’s cheaper than the PEC blems.

-- http://thewoodknack.blogspot.com/

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com